Gluten-Free Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Nothing says summer like a fruit pie.

Do you like my little heart? I wish I had these cute little cutters from sur la table. But I don’t, so I had to free hand it with a paring knife. I think it turned out ok ;)

Prefer a crumble top? Don’t worry, I’ve got you covered.

But first I need to catch you up on some gluten-free news, and then it will be back to the pies I promise!

Here’s a quick overview of upcoming Colorado Gluten-Free Events:

Incredible, Edible Gluten-Free Food Fair!
Sunday, Aug 21 from 10am to 4pm in Denver (yeah, not much notice, I know!)
click this link to the Denver Celiacs for more info

Gluten-Free Ride, Dine and Dash
Sunday, August 27th, 10am-3 pm in Fort Collins

Gluten-Free Awareness Night at a Rockies Game
Friday, Sept. 9th 6:40pm

Ok, you survived my news brief, and now back to pie . . .

I can’t get over the stunning colors in this rhubarb my friend gave me fresh from her garden.

Add a few strawberries, toss in some sugar, corn starch (gf of course), cinnamon and pinch of salt . . .

And you get this delicious gooey mess of strawberries and rhubarb.

The recipe I found for the filling was from this post by the Butter and Cream food bloggers. Butter and Cream is not a specifically gluten-free blog but the filling recipe in this case happened to be gluten-free. Please don’t avoid gluten-containing blogs, cookbooks or recipes! Gluten-free recipes can be adapted and in some cases you will stumble upon naturally gluten-free recipes such as this one.

The filling turned out good, but next time I think I will add a bit more sugar. It seemed a bit too tart for my sweet tooth :)

For the crust I used this flour mix from Glutino, blended specifically for pie crusts. The crust came out pretty well, but was a bit on the crumbly side. However the taste was far superior to any store-bought gluten-free crust I have tried so far. Pie crust are so difficult to get just right and you probably noticed in the first pie photo the top crust was a bit to thin and broke apart!

If you want to try a totally from scratch gluten-free pie crust recipe, check out this post from Gluten-Free Girl.

For the crumble topping I used a recipe from this dutch apple pie. (Just make sure you use gluten-free flour.) Oh, but I didn’t have brown sugar, so I used white sugar and added some molasses and it was fabulous! And I have to admit I liked the sweet crumble top better than the traditional top crust as the sweetness helped offset the tartness of the rhubarb.

Noticed my pies look a bit on the small side, did ya? Yep, they were created to fit perfectly into my toaster oven as to not heat the entire house by turning on the oven!

Does this make you want to make pie? I hope so!

Want some more links to pie recipes? Check out this awesome Pie Party Event and this post from Gluten-Free Girl after she hosted the Pie Party!

 

This entry was posted in Gluten Free Events, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten-Free Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

  1. Dad says:

    Love rhubarb pie! Yeah, can’t make it too sweet, even though I try.

    The bike ride through Ft. Collins sounds fun, thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

