GF Dinner and Dessert by Jeremy

A homemade GF dinner in progress, thanks to my husband, is always a nice way to be welcomed home after a long day at work!

On the menu:  Baked soy chicken (with a new marinade that Jeremy created tonight) overtop a Parmesan and Olive Oil pasta, garlic bread, and butternut squash. Yum!!!

These are Jeremy’s secret marinade ingredients. The garlic looks dirty, but for good reason – fresh out of my friend Anne’s garden! Speaking of gardens, the butternut squash shown below is from a board member from work. The squash was fresh from his family farm (Rademacher Farms). Oh and Jeremy used Sweet Escape Bakery’s amazing french bread for the garlic toast.

It was heavenly. The pasta was awesome especially since I have been avoiding Italian dishes recently due to my trouble digesting tomato AND cream based sauces. This pasta tasted wonderful and was easy on my tummy! The marinade was supposed to be our tried and true recipe from “A Taste of Home” that uses soy sauce and Italian dressing (thanks to Bonnie for that great cookbook), but we were out of dressing and Jeremy’s modifications are definitely going to be repeated again, soon!

For the recipes below keep in mind we cook small amounts due to it being just the two of us!

Jeremy’s GF Baked Soy Chicken

2 Chicken Breasts

1/8 cup GF Soy Sauce (We use San-J Tamari sauce)

1/2 large clove of finely minced garlic

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp Rosemary

Marinate for 1-2 hours and bake until the chicken is done (about 30 mins). Jeremy didn’t have time to marinate it and just basted the chicken every ten minutes and it turned out great!

Jeremy’s GF Pasta

Cook 1/2 package GF Pasta (He used Tinkyada brand)

Add:

2 Tbsp EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)

1/2 large clove of finely minced garlic

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 tsp thyme

~ 1/8 cup Parmesan cheese or to taste

Then, dessert, of course. I am ashamed and proud to admit we ALWAYS have some sort of dessert after dinner and tonight was no exception.

GF Cake Batter Cookies! We have always loved this Sandra Lee style recipe that Jeremy’s co-worker shared with us and it was our first attempt at trying it gluten free.

Oh my goodness, really one of the BEST GF cookies I have tried, hmmm, could be THE best GF cookie I have had yet!! So exciting!

Jeremy’s GF Cake Batter Cookies

With Hand Mixer or Kitchen Aid mix together:

8 oz package of cream cheese (room temp)

1 stick of butter (room temp)

1  1/2 tsp vanilla

1 egg

Add and mix:

1 package of GF Yellow Cake Mix (We used Bob’s Red Mill)

4 Tbsp of your favorite GF flour mix (We used Outrageous Baking Flour Mix)

For best results chill dough for 20 minutes. Use melon baller or spoons and make balls with dough. Roll in powdered sugar and heavily coat them! Place on cookie sheet and bake at 350 for about 12 mins. Remove and enjoy!

Oh and here’s the best part. New neighbors just moved in today and I conveniently had fresh baked cookies ready to offer and they LOVED them and didn’t even know they were GF! Why didn’t we tell them? Well, first impressions are important and we didn’t want them to think they moved in next to Boulderites or something.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to GF Dinner and Dessert by Jeremy

  1. I recently had to switch to a gluten free diet, so I loved reading this post. I look forward to more dinner and dessert ideas from you!

  2. Charles says:

    I get hungry every time I look at this! The garlic bread is pretty good stuff too, and congrats to Jeremy–he looks right at home in the kitchen 🙂 and I see Chief is waiting for something to fall on the floor…

  3. Julie Stembridge says:

    I want to try the cookies, I just don’t have only cream cheese on hand tonight. I have been wondering if there s a way for your recipes to be posted in a “print friendly” format? I was thinking it would be fun to hand out some of your recipes to my young patients. Of course I can always cut and paste.

  4. Julie says:

    Tonight I baked the Cake batter cookies. They taste really good but they don’t look as nice as yours. Mine didn’t flatten out much. I was wondering if you added the 4 tablespoons of flour due to your high elevation? I thought of it after I had added 3 tablespoons, and then stopped. The second batch I sort of smashed down and they look better. I am going to take them to work tomorrow and not tell anyone they are GF until after. I will let you know what they think.

    • gfbrooke says:

      So, I consulted with the baker and he told he he does push them down in the middle for the nice “crackled” look. You know, the 4 TBL of flour probably does have to do with elevation. The recipe is originally from fellow mile high resident, a co-worker of Jeremy’s! Maybe try without the extra flour next time and let me know how it goes.

  5. Bonnie Hageman says:

    Yum, looks delicious especially the cookies! It’s nice to be able to peek into your daily life. Loved the picture of Jeremy cooking away with Chief as close as possible!
    Love ya, Bonnie

Leave a Reply

