babycake saturday part 2

Image from babycakes online menu

This post is a little late, but here is Part 2 of babycake saturday.

So the cupcakes turned out pretty well. I definitely have to say that I like the vanilla better than the chocolate. Oh, and I have to bring up shelf life. The taste deteriorated drastically each day. I have to remember, no preservatives, no sugar, etc! One thing I have learned about gluten free baked goods is that the freezer is my friend. If it is not eaten by the end of the first day (sometimes the second day) they go into an airtight container and into the freezer. I should have remembered this, but I wanted to keep them out to take to work Monday. But, they just weren’t as good. Lesson learned, bake fresh!! (or use the freezer)

Ok, onto the frosting. I feel conflicted about this part. I had heard a lot about this famous frosting and how the owner sells “shots” of frosting for $1.50 each and when she tried to discontinue them, customers almost rioted. The luscious frosting pictured on cover of the babycakes cookbook, as well as featured in this video clip, just made me all the more curious. I HAD to try frosting that was that good, oh and it was vegan . . . .??!! So, I made the frosting, powdered soy milk and all . . . and it was . . . well . . . not good. Actually it was pretty bad. I had followed the directions perfectly, why did it taste so bad? I thought it was me,  so I summoned the husband for a taste test. He took one whiff and shook his head violently. He couldn’t even handle the smell! I was completely disappointed. I figured it might be the soymilk I added, so the next batch I used milk instead. So much for the vegan part. But I kept the powdered soy milk because I just couldn’t think of anything else to substitute for it. Still tasted foul. I even left both frosting experiments in the fridge for the recommend time. . . . still weren’t good.

So, my cupcakes ended up with some delicious GF vanilla frosting (Pamela’s mix), which was, by the way, loaded with one of my favorite non-vegan items: butter. (I could have easily made my own regular frosting, but I had wanted to try this mix and WOW! the vanilla powder used in the mix was amazing!)

But I just couldn’t let this frosting catastrophe go. It was really getting to me. There was no way people lined up to pay for shots of this stuff. And I do know how to follow a recipe. Sure enough, a few minutes of internet research, my myth was busted. This recipe was NOT for the frosting sold in the babycakes shop. Ah ha! I discovered this when a cookbook reader asked the owner how her bakery could be soy-free if two of the main ingredients in the frosting were soy based. Sure enough the owner admits the recipe is different and will not reveal the ingredients used for the famous in house frosting. Total let down. I found numerous posts from frustrated cookbook owners about failed frosting attempts and I began to feel better. I wasn’t the only one.

Then I found a link to the nutritional information for babycakes products from the bakery and there it was:

FROSTING: brown rice starch , sunflower oil, corn starch, tapioca starch, cold pressed coconut oil, agave nectar, rice milk, coconut milk, coconut flour, lemon extract, calcium carbonate (vegan) , sea salt, xanthan gum, guar gum, inulin, vitamins c, e, b6, a, folic acid, and vitamin b12

Yep, seemed a “little” different from the recipe from the book. Now I do need to point out that it appears some people did find if they ordered a special dairy free powdered milk (as opposed to a generic brand of soy milk powder I used) that the frosting did turn out ok. However, at this point I was totally over it. I was not on a search for VEGAN frosting, just a yummy gluten free muffin. I am just fine with my own buttery frosting, thank you very much.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

