Cooking Quinoa

photo courtesy of buzzle.com

Last year, after my celiac diagnosis, I kept hearing people talk about the “mother grain” the Incas used called keenwah. I looked everywhere at stores until a kind young man at the farmers market offered a sample me of a keenwah salad. Finally, I had found it! I said, “Ok I HAVE to buy some!” He handed me the bag and much to my surprise it was labeled “Quinoa”. Wait a minute, I had seen THIS grain at stores . . . my face flushed as I realized I had “heard” it pronounced and didn’t look up how it was spelled. “Is that how you spell keenwah?” I asked the grinning young man. After confirming it was, I sheepishly purchased my first bag of Quinoa!

I have today off, thanks to our country’s amazing veterans, and I decided to try my hand at cooking some for breakfast. I had heard it was just like cooking rice, but always the researcher, I found the video below! The only alterations I made were more water and more time due to my mile high elevation. I used sprouted red quinoa and it was a beautiful amber color. I added a little brown sugar and topped with blueberries, YUM!! My husband still has the camera from his hunting trip, so I had to “borrow” a few photos! This photo below is exactly what mine looked like cooked. I purchased it from Altan Alma Farm.

photo courtesy of Wikipedia

This video below is courtesy of 365Quinoa.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cooking Quinoa

  1. Julie says:

    I like boiling Quinoa in chicken broth and then adding nuts and dried fruit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

