Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie!

In my opinion it just can’t be thanksgiving without some good old fashioned pumpkin pie! Doesn’t this look yummy? The best part is that is tastes as good as it looks! I recently visited a wonderful bakery in Boulder called It’s All Good Gluten-Free Patisserie. What a find! I have been having trouble with gluten contamination from bakeries with shared kitchens and was so happy to find this one is gluten free*.  Typically closed on weekends, she was open the Saturday before Thanksgiving and I jumped at the chance to go. I was greeted by lovely aromas of fresh baked goods including one of my all-time favorites – pumpkin pie! Immediately I asked for a whole pie and then spotted the most adorable mini-pies and decided I needed one of those too. I knew the temptation would be too great to resist cutting into the larger pie before Thanksgiving, so this was the perfect solution. My husband didn’t even need to know about the mini pie . . .  Then I spotted the cranberry chocolate chip cookies and bought 2 bags! The owner, Leslie, told me these were a hit at the GF lunch she recently hosted when, Gluten Free Girl and the Chef (my favorite GF blogger) was in town.

Here is a photo of my goodies once I got back home. Yes, you caught me again, two of the four cookies were devoured on the car ride home. There are not many photos of baked goods that do not have a bite taken out of them first 🙂 Oh, and the bag of cookie mix is actually how I learned about this bakery, I received it as a sample from a recent Boulder County Celiacs meeting.

And the verdict of the taste test back at home . . .

GF and Dairy Free Pumpkin Pie: Yum! The texture seemed a little different than the traditional pumpkin filling, maybe not as firm, but quite impressive with no dairy! I also appreciated that the pie wasn’t overly sweet. I enjoyed the pure pumpkin flavor that was not overpowered by sugar!

Cranberry Chocolate Chip Cookies: very good! Even my gluten-consuming husband liked them! The texture was very impressive and the cranberries added a nice touch to the traditional chocolate chip cookie.

I know I took a lot of photos but this dang mini pie is so cute plus I wanted to show off the festive table runner my mom made for me and shipped in time for the holiday!

*I have to admit I am extremely sensitive to gluten contamination and hesitate to purchase anything that is not from a certified dedicated gluten free facility or at least has been tested for levels of gluten, so why was I willing to risk it here?  The owner took the time to answer all of my questions and concerns to my satisfaction. At this point in time there is nothing in her commercial kitchen that contains gluten and her space is not shared with any other bakers. She went on to explain that when she first started this business she consulted with others that had experience with Celiac Disease (including Shauna, the well-respected blogger from Gluten Free Girl and the Chef whom also has Celiac Disease) and discussed potential issues, problems with cross contamination and concerns that Celiacs must have with “gluten free” baked goods. Also, Leslie said she is looking into getting her products tested for gluten just to be sure. I am very sensitive to gluten contamination and did not have any ill effect from eating any of Leslie’s products, but if you aren’t willing to risk purchasing from It’s All Good Gluten Free Patisserie, I will keep this blog updated to let you know if/when her products have been tested.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gluten Free Pumpkin Pie!

  1. Julie says:

    I like your pictures 🙂 Your table looks so festive. Carrie made the cutest little leaves out of crust dough and put them on her pumpkin pie, it really looked nice, I will send you a photo. Does the bakery sell just pie shells?

  2. Julie says:

    I also liked the idea of adding cranberries to chocolate cookie, thanks.

  3. Pingback: It’s All Good Gluten Free Patisserie Holiday Hours! | Brooke's Gluten Free Bites

Leave a Reply

