Gwyneth Paltrow’s Roasted Chicken

I love browsing food blogs and websites and I recently ran across Gwyneth Paltrow’s site GOOP.  The home page displays six intriguing buttons, and the one that stood out most to me was of course a blue knife and fork labeled simply “Make”. The link took me to what is now one of my favorite food sites. I ran across a particular newsletter, as she calls it, titled “A Quick, Homemade Dinner”. Once I watched the video, I knew what I was making for dinner the next night! She demonstrated how to make her favorite roasted chicken with potatoes. I wasn’t totally convinced I’d use the term “quick” to describe this dinner, as the total time was listed on her recipe was at 1 hour (and that was with her fancy convection oven) but it sure looked yummy!

So, the next day I set out to recreate when Gwyneth calls “fast food” in her family. I started with a 6.5lb Foster Farms all natural whole chicken (which yes, is gluten-free!). Next I watched the video one more time so that I would be able to de-bone the chicken correctly. Now, just so you understand, I have watched my mom de-bone chickens many times while I was growing up, but I have never actually done it myself. After watching the refined Mrs. Paltrow, I decided that I needed to just do it. So just as Julie Powell had Julia Child’s book helping her through her first butchering attempts, I had Gwyneth Paltrow coaching me from my laptop.

Yes, I was a bit squeamish during the extraction of the back and thigh bones, but an incredible sense of accomplishment filled me once the chicken was fully prepped and in the oven.

And there is the final product! I have to say, this recipe is now one of my new favorite meals. My husband was really impressed by the potatoes. The lemon caramelizes beautifully under the potatoes and with a little help from some olive oil, leaves a wonderfully golden, slightly tangy and buttery-crunchy layer on the potatoes. Click here to go to the website with Gwyneth Paltrow’s recipe.

I also made baked acorn squash using Paula Deen’s recipe.

oh and I also used the bag of cranberries in the fridge I’ve been meaning to do something with to make sauce!

If you’ve never made cranberry sauce, why not? It’s just one cup sugar, one cup water, the berries and reduce! This time I used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of light agave nectar. It turned out really well. Next time I might replace all the sugar with agave nectar.

Now I have to go cook tonight’s dinner!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gwyneth Paltrow’s Roasted Chicken

  1. Ashley Summer says:

    Love your post – thank you so much! I tried out the chicken recipe a few nights ago and it came out beautifully! I did have to make a few adjustments because I couldn’t for the life of me figure out where the heck those thigh bones were! I didn’t want to go digging around and mess the whole thing up! So, I took out the backbone, but decided to leave the thigh bones in and extent the cooking time a bit. I added on 10 minute to the cooking time (so 50 minutes total) and double-checked it with a thermometer. Yummy, and even with the extended cooking time, a really fast meal! 🙂

    • gfbrooke says:

      Thanks for the feedback Ashley!! You know, I really had trouble finding the thigh bones and I thought it was just me! My husband came in and helped me. I easily cut out the backbone, but those thigh bones . . . even with my husband coaching me, but I think it took me 5-10 mins to wrestle the thigh bones out. Since you found out it only increased the cooking time by about 10 mins to leave the thigh bones in, I think that is what I will do next time. I forgot to mention that since I used a 6.5lb chicken (huge huh?) that I cooked it with foil on for 40 mins, then 30 more without foil, all at 450 degrees. I think it only took Gywneth 40 mins total with a 3lb chicken and a convection oven.

Leave a Reply

