Gluten-Free Ice Cream Social!

Yes, it is the middle of winter in Colorado and I went to an ice cream party today! Are you drooling yet from looking at this photo? We had something for everyone: gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free . . . you name it! I am so used to not being able to eat much of anything at a social gathering that it was a little over whelming to have so much to choose from. Did you notice the sheet of paper? It was detailed notes of exactly what was used to make the homemade ice cream. I love how “safe” I feel in this group as far as accidental gluten contamination. My contribution was Talenti brand blood orange sorbet. I just tried this sorbet last week and it is becoming a fast favorite. The container was labeled gluten-free, but I still contacted the company and found they only make one flavor, Caramel Cookie Crunch, that contains gluten and it is run on a completely separate machine so the rest of the gluten-free products are not contaminated.

Did anyone notice it??? The home-made, gluten-free, chocolate dipped WAFFLE CONE?? We all agreed that no one had tasted a waffle cone since pre-diagnosis of celiac (or gluten intolerance). Someone even brought gluten-free sprinkles!

Our local Gluten Intolerance Group (GIG) branch put this event on. This was my first official event with GIG, and I’ll tell ya, I’m a big fan!! Click here to find a GIG branch near you. Thanks to Katie for letting us use her beautiful facilities at Nourished Health Wellness Center in Denver.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gluten-Free Ice Cream Social!

  1. Julie says:

    How were the gluten free waffle cones? Any other favorite ice creams? I might head out to Whole foods tonight to look for the Talenti Blood orange Sorbet.

  2. Amy says:

    I am so glad everyone liked my waffle cones! Great post about the ice cream social!

    • gfbrooke says:

      Amy, you could go into the gluten-free waffle cone business! Do you mind if I ask where you got the waffle cone maker?

      • Amy says:

        Hi Brooke. Sorry for not getting back to you sooner. I didn’t realize you had responded to my comment.

        I got the waffle cone maker from Wal-mart.com actually. They didn’t have one in my local store, so I went to their website. I think it cost me around $29 with tax and everything, and shipping was free with the site-to-store option. If you need some help, let me know.

  3. zach says:

    Great blog. Glad you are gathering a community. By the way, my sister and brother-in-law work for Turtle Mountain making the coconut and soy ice creams. Small world.

Leave a Reply

