Gluten-Free Candy List

As Valentine’s Day approaches, it is inevitable that candy will surround you. Whether at work, school, parties, or at home, you will probably be tempted by some amount of candy. Are you like me and wonder every time, Is that really gluten-free? Unless I have time to do the research, I typically avoid the candy. Even though it is healthier to be avoiding candy, sometimes we just want to indulge a bit!  However, the last thing you want to be is sick on Valentine’s Day, so when I came across this post about Gluten-Free Valentine’s Day Candy from Heather over at Celiac Family, I knew I want to share it. The comprehensive list includes all the candies she has researched and is organized into three parts. The first part includes candies that she believes are gluten-free and safe, the second part includes questionable candies, and the third part lists unsafe gluten-containing candies. Please take the time to read how she determined candies to be safe. Heather even specifies how recently she verified the candy as gluten-free, because we all know that companies can ingredients. I personally like to do my own research because I am so sensitive to trace amounts of gluten, but what is absolutely valuable to me is her list of unsafe and questionable candies. I will avoid her list of unsafe and questionable candies, and just research the ones that are most likely safe. That cuts my research time down a lot!!

Perhaps you will want to print out this list and take it with you to the grocery store when preparing for Valentine’s Day, or since i am posting this a little late (I only found this post today!), you can at least make sure the candy you already purchased doesn’t contain gluten. I am sure a gluten-consuming friend would be more than willing to help you out by taking some of the questionable candy.

Below I have posted only Heather’s list of unsafe gluten-containing candies. You may be surprised at what ended up on the list, Lindt chocolate candies for example 😦 This is not a complete list of all the unsafe candy out, there, but it sure is a great starting point! Thanks Heather!

Unsafe Candy and Treats (Do not eat the following treats if you cannot tolerate gluten in your diet.)

  • Any chocolate candy with crisps is likely to have wheat flour or barley malt, so check carefully.
  • Crunch (Nestle) snack-size and hearts contains “barley malt“; “Made on equipment that also processes peanuts, nuts and wheat.”
  • Disney Princesses Crispy Chocolaty Hearts contains “malt extract“; “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and wheat.” (Jan. 2010)
  • Dora and Diego Crispy Chocolaty Hearts contains “malt extract“; “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and wheat.” (Jan. 2010)
  • Ferrero Rocher contains “wheat flour.”
  • Ghirardelli Luxe Milk Premium Assorted Chocolates in a heart box – contains “barley malt
  • Harry London assorted chocolates – Contains “wheat flour, gluten
  • Hershey’s Miniatures “Contains malt.”
  • Hershey’s Cookies ‘n Crème snack size treats – contains “wheat flour
  • Kit Kat contains “wheat flour
  • Lindt chocolate candy contains “barley malt powder
  • Reese’s peanut butter filled chocolate hearts (this refers only to the small, individually foil-wrapped hearts) Contains “wheat flour.”
  • M&M’s pretzel candies contain “wheat flour, malt
  • Spongebob Squarepants Crispy Chocolaty Hearts contains “malt extract“; “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and wheat.”
  • SweeTart Hearts Gummies contains “wheat
  • Transformer Crispy Chocolaty Hearts contains “malt extract“; “Manufactured in a facility that processes peanuts and wheat.” (Jan. 2010)
  • Twix contains “wheat flour
  • Twizzlers cherry pull ‘n peel candy – contains “wheat flour
  • Whoppers contain “barley malt and wheat flour” and egg products.”

Click here to view the entire list provided by the Celiac Family site.

There are lots of yummy and safe candies out there for Celiacs and others following the gluten-free diet to eat, so you don’t have to feel deprived on Valentine’s Day!

My Note about Kroger Brand Candies:
If you are tempted to purchase Kroger brand candy and are sensitive to gluten, I strongly caution against it. You must call the company for each package of candy you purchase, every time you buy it. Kroger has told me repeatedly that ingredients can change in each batch and they need the specific bar code for the package if there is a questionable ingredient such as natural flavoring. Also, Kroger cannot guarantee the product was manufactured on gluten-free lines because they usually do not receive that information from the companies that manufacture their products. For now, I am not purchasing any Kroger brand products.

 

2/18/11 Gluten-Free Candy Update:

On Valentine’s Day I ended up purchasing some Ferrara Pan “cinnamon hearts” -that basically look like heart-shaped red hots-  and they were labeled gluten free! I went to the website and found that NO wheat, barley, rye or oat ingredients are used in any product and are not present in their facility!! YAY! So, here is some more candy to add to the “safe” list that I did not see on Heather’s list:

Here are the gluten-free products listed on the Ferrara Pan website:

  • All Gummies Ferrara or Black Forest
  • All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc…)
  • All the Headlines (Lemonhead, Applehead, Grapehead, etc…)
  • All Jujus
  • All Jelly Beans
  • Sour Jacks
  • Cherry Sours
  • Boston Baked Beans
  • Atomic Fireballs
  • Jawbreakers (Jawbusters)
  • Red Hots
  • Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
  • Chewy Atomic Fireballs
  • Fruit Snacks
  • Chocolate (Almonds, Peanuts, Raisins)-Dairy
Advertisements
This entry was posted in Gluten-Free Products and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gluten-Free Candy List

  1. Julie says:

    I enjoyed checking out the Celiac Family website, another good resource. Thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s