CNN Video about Celiac Disease

A friend recently sent me a link to a CNN video about Celiac Disease, which led me to search other CNN videos about Celiac. I was impressed with what I found. Heidi Collins, a CNN news anchor, has taken advantage of her public position to bring light to Celiac Disease. In 2006 she even became the official spokesperson for the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness. Below is one video that I felt needed to be shared. Even though it was created in 2006, it is packed with great information and features an interview with the renowned Dr. Peter Green, author of Celiac Disease: A Hidden Epidemic.

Two statistics from this video that stood out to me are:

  • 1% of Americans have Celiac Disease, which is approximately 3 million people!! (FYI This is the same percentage of Americans that have high Cholesterol!)
  • 97% of Celiacs are UNDIAGNOSED

Another fact I want to throw into the mix:

  • 25% of Americans have some sensitivity to wheat (whether it is a wheat allergy, gluten sensitivity, gluten intolerance, or Celiac Disease).

Please watch the video below!

Oh, and if you didn’t get to see the CBS clip I linked to last month with actress Pauley Perrette (Abby from NCIS) bringing awareness to Celiac Disease, click here.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to CNN Video about Celiac Disease

  1. Johanna B says:

    Thanks for the link to the CNN video. I look forward to watching it this afternoon.

  2. Julie says:

    I had no idea 1% of Americans have Celiac Disease. I am sure we will be hearing a lot more about it in the future.

Leave a Reply

